The growth of the city's population, rapid advances in medical science, the increasing understanding of the importance of hygiene and, finally, the demand for health care led to the erection of a modern 353-bed municipal hospital complex at Pommerensdorf, Apfelallee, which was officially opened in 1879. From the very beginning of its existence, the municipal hospital was constantly in the process of extension and rebuilding. A hospital base was set up and new departments and clinics were opened. In 1937, the number of the hospital beds had increased to 1,004. The official existence of an independent urology department with 30 beds, first headed by Dr. Felix Hagen (1880-1962), dates back to March 1919. The aim of this new department was to carry out examinations and differential diagnoses, together with the department of internal medicine, for those patients from the urological surgery sector including evaluation for surgery. Surgical urology was the responsibility of the surgery department. The remaining cases requiring urological experience, such as those involving transurethral intervention, diseases of the bladder and urinary tract infection, were treated in the new urology department. As an auxiliary department, de facto dependent on the departments of surgery and internal medicine, urology could not develop properly and survive. In October 1935, the position of the head of the urological department was terminated, and urology was incorporated into the department of surgery. During the Second World War, between 1939 and 1945, as during the World War 1, a field hospital was set up in the municipal hospital at Pommerensdorf in Stettin.